Teacher of the Week – Joseph Mbambi

mbambi

Name      Mbambi Joseph M.

Tribe and Mother Tongue

I’m a Kavango and my mother tongue is Rugciriku/Rumanyo.

Where are you from in Namibia? How long have you lived in Rundu?

I’m from Ndonga – linena in Ndonga – linena constituency of Kavango east region. I have been living in Rundu for 13 years.

Grade and subjects you teach

I teach mathematics grade 12 and physical science grade 8 and 10.

How long have you been a teacher? 15 years

What inspired you to become a teacher in Namibia?

Never wished to be a teacher but opportunity presented itself and today I’m a teacher.  I enjoyed helping out friends when they were struggling in mathematics and science at high school.

What do you think are some of the challenges of being an educator and education in Namibia?

It is not easy nowadays to be an educator in Namibia in the sense that the profession has lost its value. People no longer see teachers as important member of society or people that can make a difference in society. We have challenges such as lack of discipline in the classroom, few furnitures in the classrooms, few teaching and learning materials coupled by overcrowded classrooms.

Who was your most influential teacher and why?

My Nigerian physical science teacher was so influential for his antics in class to outside behaviour. He was strict in class but friendly outside the class. During his classes we had a lot of practicals in science that every learner was eager to do science as a subject. Every time we had physical science we would start the lesson with a physical science anthem.

If you weren’t a teacher, what would you be doing?

I wish to be an engineer or an architect or a designer. I enjoy writing more than talking.

What do you think people in America should know about Namibia?

Namibia is a peaceful and developing country with a small population. We live in houses both modern and traditional and have different cultures and tribes.

When you’re not teaching, lesson preparing or marking, what do you like to do for fun?

I like visiting other teachers classes to copy their teaching styles…lol

What has been your best teaching moment?

I feel awesome when a learner tells me that he/she has enjoyed my lesson or my teaching but the best feeling of all is when I meet my products in town showing off their toys and boasting that i was their best teacher ever…

What is your favorite part about teaching? Is it in the actual classroom or outside?

The actual classroom it makes me feel like an actor. Only people behind the scenes knows what is going on…

Why do you enjoy working with youth?

They make me feel young and wanted.

Leave a comment

Filed under Namibia Teacher of the Week, Peace Corps Namibia Blog

Leave a Reply

