Teacher of the Week – Vera Clarke

NamDec2014-Feb2015 1063

Name–   Mrs. V. V Clarke

Tribe and Mother Tongue – Baster speaking Afrikaans

Where are you from in Namibia? How long have you lived in Rundu? I am from Rehoboth. I am now staying in Rundu for 10 years.

Grade and subjects you teach– I am teaching Afrikaans and Home Economics for grade 8 and Economics for grade 12 learners. I am also Head of Department.

How long have you been a teacher? I am a teacher for 14 years.

What inspired you to become a teacher in Namibia? – I always wanted to be a teacher since I was small. All my teachers inspired me to become a teacher as well.

What do you think are some of the challenges of being an educator and education in Namibia?–  Lack of discipline in school is a big concern for me.

If you weren’t a teacher, what would you be doing? I would probably be working in a big business with the Human Resource Department.

Who was your most influential teacher and why?

It was my accounting teacher. She was very hard working and dedicated to her profession.

When you’re not teaching, lesson preparing or marking, what do you like to do for fun?

I like to spend time with my family playing games or watching T.V.

What has been your best teaching moment?

I have had many learners coming to me and thanking me for what I have done for them and the effort that I did put in.

Why do you enjoy working with youth?

I enjoy working with the youth. They are like and undiscovered island just waiting to be explored.  I love the way youth think and reason. The way they look and feel about life itself.

Leave a comment

Filed under Peace Corps Namibia Blog

Leave a Reply

