Teacher of the Week – Nalao Lucy Immanuel

This Teacher of the Week is one near and dear to my heart – Nelao Lucy Immanuel. If you’re friends with me on Facebook then you know Lucy and I are good buds. I mention throughout our blog my “close Namibian friends” and “close Namibian colleagues” who have clued me in to Namibian social norms, helped me learn the ropes of teaching here and have helped Namibia to really feel like home. She is in that small, tight-knit group for me. This challenging experience would have been infinitely harder without her friendship.

lucy

Name-   Nelao Lucy Immanuel              

Tribe and Mother Tongue- Oshiwambo (Mbalantu)

Where are you from in Namibia?

I am from Okathimbi village, near Outapi in Omusati region

Grade and subjects you teach-

Mathematics and Natural Science, Grades 5 to 7

How long have you been a teacher?

3 Years, 5 months

What inspired you to become a teacher in Namibia?

I was inspired by my favourite teacher.

What do you think are some of the challenges of being an educator and education in Namibia?

Namibian schools do not have enough classrooms, and teachers; the teacher to learner/student ratio is highly exceeded, making teaching and learning difficult. Discipline is also a major challenge for us as educators.

If you weren’t a teacher, what would you be doing?

I have passion (and I believe talent too) for media, I always picture myself on the stage or reading news on TV. I would definitely be a presenter or journalist, actually I will, someday. I believe no dream is too big for me to achieve.

Who was your most influential teacher and why?

My physical Science teacher was (is) very inspirational. He has great passion for his students and a unique ability to deliver.

What do you think people in America should know about Namibia?

The sand dunes and landscapes especially at the coastal areas make Namibia an extremely beautiful country (5th in the world according to recent statistics, buzzfeed.com). The varieties of wild animals in our large national parks are our wealth. It has diverse cultures, but yet peaceful.

When you’re not teaching, lesson preparing or marking, what do you like to do for fun?

I spend my free times surfing the net and reading inspirational pieces. I go out with friends too.

What has been your best teaching moment?

My best teaching moment is during award ceremonies, when my learners receive awards; my heart is always filled with joy and pride.

What is your favorite part about teaching? Is it in the actual classroom or outside?

Teaching is a challenge. My favourite part about teaching is every day, all the time knowing that I am making a difference in somebody’s life. It is in knowing that I am a role model.

Why do you enjoy working with youth?

Young people need people like me, to be inspired, especially young girls. I enjoy working with them because they are sweet, and because they are talented, energetic and eager to learn.

2 Comments

Filed under Peace Corps Namibia Blog

2 responses to “Teacher of the Week – Nalao Lucy Immanuel

  1. Pingback: Lisa’s Secondary Projects in Peace Corps Namibia | Our Peace Corps Namibia Blog

  2. Pingback: Best Memories, Moments and Lessons of Peace Corps. Numbers 10-18 | Our Peace Corps Namibia Blog

Leave a Reply

