Reader of the Week – Gideon Ndongo

This week’s Reader of the Week is in the library every day checking out a new book. He is shown here wearing his library card on his shirt. My school is so large that my talented colleague came up with the idea to have learners who are interested in borrowing books get a library card. This has helped us keep the books accounted for and volume levels reasonable. Anyone can get a card but their parents must sign a permission slip.  Learners are proud to have a library card.

gideon

Gideon Ndongo, Grade 6, 12 years old

Mother Tongue: Nyemba

What do you love about books?

I like to learn and read in English. It helps me.

What is your favourite book or author and why?

My favourite book is Way to Go, Alex! Written by Robin Pulver. I like it because it is good, it inspires me.

What inspires or interests you to read books?

I want to know how to read the story.  I also just want to know a lot of stories.

What kind of books do you like to read and why?

Books like The Three Little Pigs. Books like that help you learn how to read.

What are some of your goals and dreams?What do you want people in America to know about Namibia?

My goal is to learn and finish school. I want people in America to know that Gideon can read.

1 Comment

Filed under Peace Corps Namibia Blog, Reader of the Week

One response to “Reader of the Week – Gideon Ndongo

  1. Pingback: Lisa’s Secondary Projects in Peace Corps Namibia | Our Peace Corps Namibia Blog

Leave a Reply

