Reader of the Week – Wilbard Shaapa

I met Wilbard two years ago when we first arrived at site. He was in one of the English classes I substitute taught for 2 months before I got my own classes in January 2014. He was always eager to learn and one of the brightest in the class. This year I’ve gotten to know Wilbard because he is a library prefect. He loves to read and we enjoy talking about books together. He was chosen to attend Peace Corps’ Camp GLOW, a camp for young learner leaders in Namibia. I know he will be a great addition to the group and will learn a lot from his experience.

Wilbard Shaapa, Grade 11, 17 years old

Mother Tongue: Oshiwambo

How many languages do you speak? 3

What do you love about books?

I love the fact that they give you a sense of imagination. They allow you to picture the story in your head in any way you like.

What is your favourite book or author and why?

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling. I like the Harry Potter books because they are full of action and mysteries.

Who is your favourite celebrity?

Bill Gates because he inspires me to be innovative.

What inspires or interests you to read books?

I am naturally fond of reading books and my love for it inspires me most.

What kind of books do you like to read and why?

Action and suspense books. They keep the reader on edge and make them want to read more of the book.

Where in the world would you like to visit and why?

I would love to visit the Bahamas because it’s a place for relaxation.

What are some of your goals and dreams? What do you want people in America to know about Namibia?

Study hard, graduate, pursue a career in mechanical engineering and make Namibia a better place.

Leave a comment

Filed under Learner of the Week, Peace Corps Namibia Blog

Leave a Reply

